Maybach family again co-owner of MTU Friedrichshafen

The EQT IV fund (EQT) has invited the Maybach family to reinvest into MTU Friedrichshafen, a business founded by Karl and Wilhelm Maybach in 1909. The agreement on re-investment was reached in light of both the Maybach family and EQT sharing a common view on the future potential for development of MTU Friedrichshafen. Both parties have agreed not to disclose financial details.

EQT also announced today that it has appointed four industrial members to the Supervisory Board of MTU Friedrichshafen, representing a wide range of industrial experience across many sectors of the economy. The board composition reflects EQT’s belief that the management team is responsible for day-to-day operations, while at the same time they can draw from a wealth of expertise from the industrial world. The industrial members of the Supervisory Board are:

Rolf Eckrodt (Chaiman). Mr. Eckrodt was formerly Executive President and Chief Operating Officer of Mitsubishi Motors Corporation and before that Executive President and Chief Operating Officer of Adtranz-DaimlerChrysler Rail Systems. Mr. Eckrodt is currently a board member of Sanitec Group and President of the Asia-Pacific Forum. Mr. Eckrodt, born 1942, has a Diploma in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Bochum and spent many years in executive positions in the Daimler-Benz/DaimlerChrysler Group.

Sune Karlsson. Mr. Karlsson was formerly Executive Vice President of ABB and a member of the ABB Executive Committee. Mr. Karlsson is currently Chairman of Haldex and of the Eldon Group and Vice Chairman of the board of Carl Zeiss Vision. Mr. Karlsson, born 1946, is a Graduate Engineer (Master of Science, Mechanical Engineering) from Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg.

Giulio Mazzalupi. Mr. Mazzalupi was President and Chief Operating Officer of the Atlas Copco Group and is currently a board member of Electrolux-Zanussi and Parker Hannifin. Mr. Mazzalupi, born 1940, is a Faculty Mining Engineer from Rome University.

Jürgen Grossmann. Mr. Grossmann is CEO and sole shareholder of Georgsmarienhütte Holding GmbH, comprising 43 companies active in heavy industry. Mr. Grossmann is a member of several advisory and supervisory boards such as Deutsche Bahn AG, BAT British American Tobacco GmbH and Wilhelm Karmann GmbH. Moreover, he is chairman of the board of Surteco AG. Born in 1952, Mr. Grossmann studied ferrous metallurgy in Clausthal/Germany and economic sciences at German universities and at Purdue University/USA.

In addition to the above, two representatives from EQT Partners and the current six members representing the employees are also members of the Board.

Johan Hähnel, Director Communications & PR,
+46 70 605 6334,

EQT logo