Paul Wachter

Senior Advisor

  • Country
    United States
  • Title
    Senior Advisor

Paul Wachter has been an advisor to EQT since 2023. Paul began his professional career as a clerk for Judge Dorothy W. Nelson of the U.S. Supreme Court of Appeals.

Thereafter, Paul served as tax attorney at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison, investment banking at Bear Stearns & Co., and served as a managing director at both Kidder, Peabody & Co. and Schroder & Co. Incorporated; leading to the founding of his own firm, Main Street Advisors, in 1997.

With almost $9 billion in assets under management, Main Street is one of the most prominent investors and business builders in sports, media, music and entertainment. Paul has helped lead financial and business strategy for many of the most prominent individuals and transactions across these industries, including building LeBron James’ off-court business, Beats by Dre with Jimmy Lovine and Dr. Dre, and the growth and expansion of Fenway Sports Group from its inception. Paul co-founded Lobos 1707 with Diego Osorio, LeBron James and Maverick Carter in 2020. He is the Executive Producer on Starz’s comedy Survivor’s Remorse, which has been nominated for and won NAACP and GLAAD awards; Executive Producer of What’s My Name, an HBO documentary about Mohammed Ali, winner of the PGA award for best sports documentary and the 2020 Sports Emmy. He is also the Executive Producer of Arnold, a Netflix documentary on Arnold Schwarzenegger. Paul previously sat on the University of California Board of Regents until 2016, as well as the Board of Directors of Time Warner until 2018. He currently sits on the board of Complex NTWRK, The SpringHill Company, as well as other boards across various industries. Paul is now Chairman of the Board of United Talent Agency.

Paul graduated Magna Cum Laude and Beta Gamma Sigma from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania ‘78. He was a James Kent Scholar and Harlan Fiske Stone Scholar at Colombia Law School ’81. Paul is a member of the NY State Bar.

EQT Board Memberships:

Current: Chairperson UTA